Made in Preston Military block dress and polka dot bikini review

Made in Preston is a British bust-friendly brand selling clothes, underwear and swimwear, that launched last season. They recently had a very generous offer: 50% off your first order. As I had never ordered from them, I figured this was the perfect occasion to try out their stuff. I opted for a flirty polka dot bikini and a graphic black and white dress.

I really really wanted the red polka dot bikini to work.  I didn’t expect a wireless bikini to provide much uplift or support and I knew it was going to be way skimpier than what I usually wear on the beach, but I thought I would end up with good side coverage and a large amount of cleavage, like Thin and Curvy’s Brittany in the bikini this one is based on.

Seriously, how can I be blamed for trying? It is the cutest thing.

IMG_0359

 

MIP’s 16 fab size is supposed to fit up to a 38J. I figured that it should work for sister sizes. Wrong! There was just not enough fabric to cover me on the sides. If you’re a 36H or smaller though, check it out!

Next was a little dress I had spotted when MIP previewed their first collection: the black military block panel dress. I find that the black and white colour blocking has a sleek mod vibe and that the white panels on the hips could flatter a top heavy figure. The 16 fab was sold out so I went for the 14 fab, as the fabric is stretchy and The Curves have it’s review for the same dress with reverse colours indicated that it was quite generous in the bust. It did indeed have enough bust room and fitted fine in the body, but I was unhappy with the length. While it reaches mid thigh on the model, it went way past the knees on my 5 ft 4 self, not a great look for someone like me who never wear heels! In the end, I decided that I didn’t love it enough to pay to get it hemmed.

Thankfully, MIP offers free returns, so both items will be going back. While these didn’t quite work out for me, I’ll definitely give the brand another try at some point, now that I have a better idea of the sizing. It would be very helpful if the website indicated the length for dresses, rather than the height of the model though.

If you’re curious about MIP, you might want to check the following reviews:

Dress round up, by Thin and Curvy’s Laura

Aztec bralet, by Bybabysrules

Aztec bralet, by Obsessed with breasts

Edited to add that I had no problem getting a refund, by sending back the items with the return form carefully filled. Furthermore, the refund occurred on the day my credit card got cancelled. I mentioned it on Made in Preston FB page and the issue was sorted out in less than 24 hours.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Made in Preston Military block dress and polka dot bikini review

  1. abotticella says:

    I’ve ordered from Made in Preston before. I have to say beware; their customer service is the worst. I ordered two bralets which did not fit. I emailed them regarding returning the items and did not get a response for two weeks. I returned the items through air mail over a month ago; which I paid for. I did not hear from Made in Preston when I expected. I was worried that maybe my items never made it. I emailed them two weeks after shipping the items and asked if they could let me know if they received my package. I did not receive a response. I’ve emailed them twice since and no response. I used their contact template on their website as well as they email they originally emailed me with. Nothing. So I’m down $150 with nothing to show for it.

    • astrid says:

      That’s horrible! Have you tried posting on their Facebook page? They seem to reply quite quickly. I certainly hope I won’t have such a bad experience.

    • xelestial says:

      Don’t give up! Contact them through every possible Avenue. Send an email every three days. They will eventually respond to get you off their back. And then never buy again and let everyone know how much they such!

  2. xelestial says:

    Yeah I looked at made in Preston and wrote them off because they cut our size out. I’ll stick with urkye for now and maybe biu biu but I don’t blame you for trying!

  3. Pingback: Made in Preston Spring Floral Skater Dress | Les gros bonnets

Leave a comment