The busty gal and the accidental capsule wardrobe

A capsule wardrobe usually refers to a collection of clothes selected to create an optimal number of outfit through mixing and matching. They’ve been gaining momentum and I’ve came across quite a few minimalist fashion bloggers lately. Checking out their list of clothes, I came to realise that my wardrobe didn’t contain many more items than theirs. (And certainly fewer shoes!) Now, I’ve never planned to build a capsule wardrobe, never identified with a minimalist lifestyle and never went through a massive clothes purge. My wardrobe came to be organically, through my attitude towards fashion and clothing. Some aspects of this attitude are due to my personality and lifestyle, but some might be linked to being busty.

  • Limited options

I grew up in a time before busty clothing, which means some clothes were simply off limits. Even today, women often complain about the lack of choice in busty clothing. Less options translated to less junk in my closet. When Bravissimo started offering clothing, I was in my 20s and had pretty much given up on dresses, as even stretchy ones never fitted properly. I now own and wear dresses on a regular basis but stil have…

  • A love for separates

I happen to think that separates are perfectly suited to my strawberry shape. They’re also a staple of capsule wardrobes because they’re so versatile.

  • Figure flattery

Having an extreme body shape, I’ve always felt conscious of what looked and didn’t look good on me. I don’t think that people have to follow rules of figures flattery and everyone should wear what make them happy. Still, you’ll never find me dead in a turtleneck and I tend to gravitate towards the same silhouettes.

  • Colour scheme

I also tend to naturally gravitate towards the same colours, although those have changed over the years. Also in the lines of figure flattery, I used to follow the darker/plain top with lighter/brighter/more patterned bottom rule, at least in the summer.

  • Limited budget

As a student, I would definitely spend more on bras than on clothes. Nowadays, that is no longer the case, but I’ve gotten used to not buying that many clothes. I’m always taken aback when people complain about only liking a few items in the new collection of one bust-friendly brand or another. It’s not like they would buy the entire collection if they liked it, would they? Apparently some would.  Even if I could wear all those clothes, I wouldn’t want them coming all from the same brand. I would feel like a walking catalogue. And then there is the issue of…

  • Limited storage space

Two friends had a look at my tiny excuse for a closet and one asked the other: “where does she put her clothes?!” To put it in another way, when I stay in a hotel, the closet is usually twice as big as the one I have at home. I do have a tiny chest, but half of it contains lingerie and loungewear, not leaving much room for actual clothes.

Bottom line: I put a lot of time and thought in buying clothes and impulse buying is just against my nature. I don’t think it’s necessarily the best way to go. I’ve missed on great deals because I was undecided, but I can’t imagine doing things differently. Once again, I don’t consider myself or my wardrobe minimal and I was surprised at how many clothes and especially shoes most minimal bloggers seemed to own. That being said, it’s a refreshing and relatable trend  and I respect the commitment to ethical shopping of many of these women. With that in mind, I’m planning to share a few silhouettes which have worked for me in a future post. Stay tuned!

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The busty gal and the accidental capsule wardrobe

  1. Darlene says:

    I can’t wait for those future posts!!! I came to my own capsule wardrobe differently than you did, but some of the issues you describe are what contributed to my own minimalistic approach that I described on Hourglassy yesterday.

    • astrid says:

      So funny that we wrote these at the same time! I just checked your post. I actually almost always bring the same stuff with me when traveling (depending on the season/weather of course).

  2. Devon says:

    This is so great, thank you for posting. I’ve always found it frustrating to be a fashionista with my strawberry shape but it just takes knowing one’s figure and what flatters and not being afraid to ask for/look for help! Looking forward to future posts- consider yourself bookmarked!! 😀

Leave a Reply

