A halterneck bra in a 32KK!

Nope, halterneck bras are not being retailed in larger cup sizes yet. The bra in the title does exist though. It is a Frankenbra born out of my desire to wear my cute no-mimikri tops outside of my home. I have to thank fellow bosom bloggers Nesoa of Dressing curves and Hater of Bras I hate and love for telling me that yes, turning a regular bra into a halterneck was acheivable. Considering that I have no sewing skills whatsoever, I decided to butcher a bra that has seen better days and that I wouldn’t miss if things didn’t work out. Turned out that the whole thing took barely 2 minutes, was easy peasy and didn’t even involved sewing! So here comes my very first tutorial:

1) I lengthened the strap completely, before cutting them at the base in the back. I used a regular pair of scissors.

IMG_0307

 

2) I removed the adjustable part of the strap on one side, leaving me with a half strap with a ring connector at the end.

IMG_0308

 

3) I used the adjustable part of the other strap as a link, sliding it through both rings.

IMG_0310

 

End result:

photo-8

 

Ta-dah!

Close-up of the neck tie:

IMG_0306

 

And yeah, I should definitely stitch the end of the tie, as well as the spots were I cut off the straps in the back for  cleaner look, but I wanted to share this with you right now! It really is as easy as 1- 2 – 3!

Things to consider:

  • Nesoa warned me that this alteration would create the impression of larger cups, so it is better done on a bra that is on the tight side. It is not dramatic, but I can feel that effect. I’d say it is just about half a cup larger.
  • Some women find halterneck uncomfortable because it put too much pressure on their neck. I don’t have that problem, but I used a bra with a tight band, a looser band might have resulted in more pressure on my neck.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A halterneck bra in a 32KK!

  1. Pingback: Weight Loss & Bra Buying | A Sophisticated Pair

  2. Pingback: Weight Loss, Bra Buying, and a Bra Makeover with Diana from Livy Loves to Run

Leave a Reply

